No ‘Portal’ References, Unfortunately

January 10, 2009 at 12:17 am 3 comments

Not-so-interesting fact; some people find it really unusual that I bake. I can’t really imagine why; it’s easy, and the results are delicious.

The other day, as the result of a bet, I baked my first cake. The bet in question involved my friend Ruhi, who you may recall from older posts. Ruhi tends to get stressed out during exams and ends up going a little crazy; last year she spent two weeks living off Red Bull and cigarettes, substituting intense studying for eating food. This year I told her that if she managed to keep herself together, I’d bake her a cake.

I can happily say that the bet was won. Ruhi kept herself together, I made her a cake, and it turned out to be pretty delicious. It is a victory for all involved.

*****

Did you know the Romans were the first internet trolls? When writing, they used all caps and didn’t punctuate.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Contrasts The Sport of Kings

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jon  |  January 10, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I don’t believe you made a cake. I might even go so far as to say that the cake is a lie.

    Reply
  • 2. elminko  |  January 10, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    I assure you, Jon, that the Portal reference is not appropriate in this case.

    Reply
  • 3. jon  |  January 11, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Portal References are always appropriate. Where did I leave my beloved cube!!!Also a fun ancient language thing: The Ancient Greeks didn’t bother writing left to right or right to left all the time, just whatever they felt like at the time. They were just so gosh darned happy to be writing at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

