Life at Home

December 22, 2008 at 9:18 pm 3 comments

So, my forays into Youtube remain completely unsuccessful. I really don’t know what to do about this, except possibly consult with Jeff when I get back to Vancouver. However, consulting with Jeff tends to be unpleasant.

*****

One of the things living away from home does is give you perspective on just how strange life at home is. For example, did you know there are no desks in this house? It’s crazy. I’d like a desk. I even asked for one a few times when I lived here. There’s no good reason for this to be.

I brought my desktop back in order to get some work down, and I had to set it up on top of a cabinet in the living room. Unfortunately, this makes it impossible to actually do any work, since I’m sitting with my back exposed to the entire room and I find it impossible to do any serious writing when out in the open with the computer screen available for all to see. I tend to be very touchy about people reading over my shoulder, and about people reading my work uninvited, so this set-up creates a sort of perfect storm where I can’t actually accomplish anything.

In a related note, I find it very uncomfortable to read in my room, because if I try to sit on my bed and lean against the wall my bed rolls away. My bed is on wheels, you see. There’s also no good reason for this to be.

It’s little things like this, taken in aggregate, that make it impossible to live here for any length of time. I need to figure out what I’m doing next summer.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

A Quick Question Shocking News!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeff Hitchcock  |  January 4, 2009 at 2:56 am

    “However, consulting with Jeff tends to be unpleasant.”

    Reply
  • 2. elminko  |  January 4, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    I’m sorry, Jeff. It’s just that whenever we talk, you have a tendency to come up with elaborate ways to kill me. You’ve already ruined jet-skis for me.

    Reply
  • 3. Jeff Hitchcock  |  January 6, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Come on, that is like one elaborate way to kill you. I bet you couldn’t name seven more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

