In Which Peanut Butter Saves the Day

April 29, 2008 at 9:42 am Leave a comment

My stomach is my least favourite organ.

When I’m feeling upset about something I tend to feel it most in my stomach. It gets nauseous, knotted, cramped and generally uncomfortable. I know something is really wrong when I can’t eat and can’t sleep because my stomach is too contorted to allow even the basic functions of life.

The problem is, for less serious levels of anxiety, this feeling in my stomach is entirely indistinguishable from being hungry or sick.

Now this is a serious problem. There are situations where I literally cannot tell if I am having an emotional crisis or if I’m just hungry. I spent most of tonight with knots in my stomach assuming something must be wrong (in life, there’s always dozens of small things which could be wrong), then I ate a peanut butter sandwich and immediately felt better. There’s two possible conclusions to this:

1) I was actually hungry, and not upset, or
2) Peanut Butter Sandwiches are a cure-all to emotional trauma

Once again I have found a spectacular way to fail at the most basic aspects of living. I have only myself to blame. But of myself, it’s mainly my stomach.

The bastard.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Complete Insanity Things Which be Going On

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

