In Which I Lament

February 7, 2008 at 6:20 am Leave a comment

You may be wondering where I’ve been since I last posted. Simply put, my life has been completely and utterly consumed by film. To explain;

On both Saturday and Sunday I had to get up early in the morning (7:30 AM) to be cameraman on a production by the UBC film society. On both days we kept going until about 6:30 PM; I spent nearly the entire time standing or (for some particularly uncomfortable shots) crouching. Needless to say, this made me very tired.

But could I rest? No! For I still had to edit my own short, one-minute film for my Production class. Over the course of Monday and Tuesday I spent a good sixteen hours editing this thing; last night I stayed in the Editing Lab until 5 AM trying to get it perfect. The whole thing involved heavy use of sound effects, and they had to be very carefully synced to the track. I kept going back and redoing things in an effort to make them just a little bit better, never happy unless the results were perfect.

I want you to understand the magnitude of this. 16 hours of editing. For 1 minute of film.

After seeing all the other films aired today, I’m forced to conclude that I didn’t work hard enough.

There are some damn talented people in that class. I was really impressed by the quality of some of the camera work. To be honest, my film looks a little amateurish in comparison. I’m worried about what this means for my grade, but even more worried about what it means for my prospects trying to apply to the Film Program in a few months.

The only thing to do at this point is redouble my efforts. More planning, more filming, more editing. I fully plan to work until I’m blind if that’s what it comes to. When my next film project is done, I want that sucker to be so polished it slips out of your hands when you try to hold it.

I may be some time.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Sleep is For the Weak, and the Tired The Saddest Song in the World

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

