Crisis Day 2: Solitude Makes Me Introspective

January 19, 2008 at 8:37 am Leave a comment

So, it’s Day One of my project and already I am concerned by the Capitalist overtones of my reinvention.

For example, I want to write more. This means I need to buy something to write in. I want to start drawing, so I need to buy pens and pencils to draw with. This problem becomes even greater in regards to some of my long-term projects, such as learning Bass Guitar. It seems that everything I want to do requires accumulating more possessions.

This is problematic, as I feel I already have too much stuff anyway. Also, it suggests that identity is inherently driven by consumable goods, as it is impossible to ‘become’ something (an artist, a filmmaker, etc.) without first spending money to do so.

I hope to deal with these questions further, but for now I’m adopting a policy of “only doing things which are free”. I’m only going to movies for free (there’s a surprising number of options there), only doing exercise which is free (since my main source is running, that won’t be a problem), and to the best of my abilities constructing things I need myself. Obviously this won’t be possible on a large-scale sense (I don’t have the expertise to build myself a Bass Guitar), I think it will be feasible to build my own writing notebooks and sketchpads out of materials I already have.

Also, my backpack is terribly broken. I was going to buy a new one but now I’m going to see if I can fix it with the tools at my disposal.

In other news, I saw the Samurai-Film classic “Kill!” today. It delivered on the promise of it’s title a hundred fold. Good stuff.

Editor’s Note: I’m just… man, there’s a reason I don’t do personal posts often. They are stupid. I’m so sorry, everyone. Just skip this whole section, okay?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Crisis on a Very Limited Segment of Earth Crisis Day 3: Not an Actual Crisis

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

