Crisis on a Very Limited Segment of Earth

January 18, 2008 at 6:38 am Leave a comment

I hope everyone will excuse me while I sound very arrogant for a few minutes. I’m not trying to brag.

Lately, I’ve realized I have a major problem in my life; namely, that it’s too easy. I’m well provided for, I don’t have any serious problems, and I’m able to get excellent marks without doing any real work. Now, I’m thankful for the first two; those are key pillars to any stable life. But the fact that I just keep skating through school (and, by extension, most of my life) with no real work involved is troubling.

Now, last term at school I got straight A’s, and an 87% average. This was achieved despite the fact:

-I rarely did assigned readings
-I waited until the last minute to complete any and all work
-I spent only a couple of hours studying for each exam

On one hand, it’s nice not to have to struggle to get through life. On the other hand… well, what’s the point? I’ve never been a fan of taking the easy route, but in this case I find the path to success itself easy.

What makes this particularly bad is that it makes it hard for me to apply myself. I don’t write nearly as much as I want to or as well as I want to; why bother with the extra effort when I end up doing well anyways?

Essentially, I feel like I’m not living up to my potential because there’s currently no challenges in my life to live up to.

So I guess I’ll just have to change that.

<b>Editor’s Note: Later, my life would go to shit due to a variety of circumstances. Curse my youthful arrogance!</b>

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Spasmo! Spasmo! Spasmo! Crisis Day 2: Solitude Makes Me Introspective

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

