Day One: Wherein I Reflect on Free Things

October 2, 2007 at 5:42 am Leave a comment

Some of you may remember my posts about the school newspaper last year. The last-minute rushes, the insane workload, the terror that was deadlines.

This year, of course, I’m actually at UBC proper, and thus it’s a different paper (titled, strangely, “The Ubyssey”). So far as I have observed, it has all the same problems as the last paper, and practically every other newspaper in the world.

There is one thing it has that the last paper didn’t, though, and that’s free stuff.

I am shocked at the sheer volume of things the paper gives away. Every production night (twice a week) they provide the entire staff with free meals. Free CDs and movie tickets pour into the office from studios, and are in turn handed out like candy. In the last two weeks I’ve got tickets to a play, tickets to several movies, and a pass to an IMAX extravaganza-thingy.

All of this is pretty spectacular, but it’s not the best part.

The best part is that we get a Press Pass to the Vancouver International Film Festival.

I’m not sure I could describe how giddy this makes me. I get a pass that lets me see a near-unlimited amount of free movies. And not just any movies, either; the greatest films of the year from across the globe. Then I write about these movies, and the reviews get printed up in the paper for everyone to read.

I’m not sure I could ask for anything more out of life.

Needless to say, things are going fantastic in the film department of my life. Expect to see reviews of everything I watch in the coming weeks. Expect me to brag about how awesome it is to have a Press Pass. Expect cake*.

Essentially, the Ubyssey student newspaper is a kind of Dream Factory. I love it there.

*There will be no cake

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

An Apology is Owed Day Two: Wherein I Reflect on the Badass that is Ninja

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

