Angry, Angry Blog

August 23, 2007 at 7:22 pm Leave a comment

Goddamnit.

Longtime readers will be familiar with my old and nigh-epic feud with UBC. Let it be said that we have had… trouble, in the past. And the present. And most likely in the future, as well.

My latest fight with UBC is over scholarships. Awhile ago they sent me an application for a rather large scholarship and told me to fill it out. I did, and now I’m waiting for a response.

And waiting, and waiting, and waiting.

It’s been weeks since I sent it off, and there’s only a week left before school actually starts, and I still don’t know if I’m getting the money. I’ve been holding off finalizing my student loan until I hear back from UBC, but now I’ve reached a point where that’s ceasing to become an option. If I don’t hear back from them soon, I’m going to have to get the student loan regardless (yay debt).

I’ve called them to try to get it resolved, of course, only to get locked in phone tag. It wasn’t until just this morning that I finally managed to get a call from them. The first thing I asked is when I would hear whether I got the scholarship or not.

“We still haven’t decided on the applications. We don’t do that until the end of August.”

Huh. So after that, I’ll probably find out pretty soon, right?

“People are usually notified in October. Maybe November.”

What the hell? I have to wait until November to find if I’m actually going to have enough money for school?

“We only contact people who won scholarships. If you don’t hear anything by the end of November try calling back in.”

….

Basically what all this means is that I’m going to have to finalize my student loan whether I need it or not. And I won’t even KNOW if I need it or not until November. I am potentially assuming thousands of dollars of unnecessary debt because UBC’s administration cannot do their job in a timely manner.

I’m having a lot of fun. I really am.

Editor’s Note: My experiences with UBC administration tend not to be so bad now, in that I just tend to ignore what they do. It’s a much better system.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Animal Man VS The Punisher Creature from the Black Lagoon!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

