Wherein I Try Very Hard Not to Adopt a Cat

June 21, 2007 at 12:20 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been working overtime at work, so I’m getting home late; around three in the morning. Needless to say, by that point in the morning I just sort of stumble in and collapse into bed immediately. I then sleep forever.

This morning, however, I was surprised to be awoken by loud yelling in my ear. Evidently there was something urgent I needed to see outside. And that something?

A kitten. On our doorstep. Being fed.

Well, shit.

The bugger is impossibly cute. Big brown eyes, sort of beige striped fur, the general cuteness associated with kittens, etc. Apparently it followed my mom and sister home after school yesterday while I was at work. Since then it’s been refusing to leave, probably because we keep giving it food. It seems pretty domesticated and comfortable with people, so it almost certainly has an owner. Now it’s just a matter of trying to find them.

In the meantime, we have to look after the cat. And my entire family (except me) is leaving within a week, so if it’s not gone by then I have to look after it myself until it’s owner finally shows up. I really have no idea what I’m doing, so I’m going to ask for help: I know there’s a lot of cat people who read this blog- people with cats, people on the verge of being crazy old cat ladies, and perhaps even the Jacques Tourneur type– so, I need to draw on your collective expertise. What do I feed this thing? How do I look after it? How do I make sure it gets back to it’s home so I can’t stop worrying about it? (For the record, I have no intention whatsoever of keeping this cat).

In the meantime, I have named her Cookie. It was originally going to be Gulliver, but my little sister would have none of that.

Goddamn your, cute cat. You will be the ruin of me.

Editor’s Note: In the end, we didn’t keep the cat. Not because we found it’s owner, though; we wouldn’t let it inside until we figured out what to do with it, and while we were working on that our neighbours across the street started feeding it. It ended up living with them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Mission Complete! Beware of Over-the-top, Exaggerated Bragging

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

