Mission Complete!

June 17, 2007 at 8:22 pm Leave a comment

This post is actually from yesterday. I collapsed from exhaustion before I could put it up.

My bones ache, I can’t bend at the waist, I’m running a temperature of 100 degrees, and I’m exhausted beyond belief. Why is that, you ask?

MARATHON!

Yes, today was the day I’ve been bugging you about for months, the day I enter the halls of legend by running in a very long race and beating lots of people. Technically it was a half-marathon; I work later today, which prevents me from destroying myself utterly.

But anyway; I suppose you’re all wondering how I did? Or perhaps you just want me to shut up? Either way, no need to keep you in suspense any longer. I ran the entire race of 13.1 Miles (or 21 Kilometers, for those using metric) in 1 hour, 56 minutes and 20 seconds.

I hereby decree this “Pretty Awesome”.

In addition, during the race I procured seven cups of water, one cup of Gatorade, two wet sponges, and a blister on one of my toes. Other than the blister, this is all from those stations they always have set up along the route of marathons.

The real story of this marathon, though? I got my ass kicked by Batman. I’m not kidding. Twenty minutes into the race I saw the Caped Crusader run past me; I would have given chase, but I knew there was no way I could ever hope to beat Batman. Much later, after I had finished the race, I was told Batman had finished in the top twenty; this may not sound particularly impressive, but you go and run 13.1 Miles in bullet-proof armour and a cape and see how you do.

I’m pretty sure he stopped to avert an armed robbery along the way, too.

So, that’s it then. I’ve completed my race. What next? I plan to keep running, get myself into a full marathon, qualify for the Olympics within the next three years (er, maybe not the last part). Other than the part where the effort involved destroyed me utterly, it was a lot of fun. Now on to the end credits and final screen!


Mission Complete!
Time: 1:56:20
Item: 78%
See you next mission!

Entry filed under: awesome post. Tags: .

My Little Sister is Awesome Wherein I Try Very Hard Not to Adopt a Cat

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

