I Are Working

May 1, 2007 at 3:10 am Leave a comment

Egads.

I have officially started work, a process that involves getting up at the ungodly hour of 6:30 AM. Unfortunately, since I’m used to going to be late and sleeping in, this meant I was operating on three hours of sleep for my first day of training. Yay.

Of course, the day I start work would also be the day I get contacted by the much better job that I was hoping to get and gave up on. I’m going to try for it, but I don’t think I’m going to gamble the job I have for the one I want. “Want” being a relative term in this case, of course; they’re both call center related, and thus both inherently reprehensible. But one of them pays better than the other.

In any case, I’m going to go sleep for the next ten hours. My brain hurts.

Editor’s Note: Oh man, employment. Here’s a tip to all you cool kids out there; don’t work in a Call Center. Ever. Do whatever you can to avoid it. Sell your body to science. Hell, sell your body on the streets. Just don’t do something where you answer phones all day for a living. At least the 6:30 AM days didn’t last long; after training I got moved to a schedule where I worked past midnight, which was slightly less reprehensible. The hour-long commute was still killer.

The ‘better job’ in question here was one with Stats Canada; it later became apparent they were looking for someone permanent and not someone planning on going back to school. As such, I didn’t get the job.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The Sensational Character Find of the 2007 It’s Pretty Much Ridiculous

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

