Marathon Man

February 7, 2007 at 11:36 pm Leave a comment

It’s funny how time gets away from you. John Lennon said “Life is what happens when you’re making other plans”. For what it’s worth, Ferris Bueller said Lennon was “a smart man. He was the Walrus”. That’s the kind of recommendation I can get behind.

What I’m getting at here is that it’s sort of strange how you can set out to do something and then, in leaps and bounds, it doesn’t get done. For example, as my New Year’s Resolution, I decided I was going to get in shape to run a marathon. Right now the only exercise I get is my kickboxing course, which really isn’t geared to cardiovascular training; sure, I could kick out all your teeth, but I’d never be able to chase you down to do it.

I even tracked down a professionally developed training plan meant to get beginners ready for their first marathon. It breaks down what you should do on each day, which days you should rest, how far and what type of running you should do, etc. It’s a very precise 15-week program that leads right up to race day. The problem, though, is that it requires you to already be able to run at least some distance comfortably when you begin. So, I have to train to get up to that point so I can do the main training program.

I think it’s pretty easy to guess what I haven’t been doing since New Year’s.

In any case, the last few days I’ve been getting out to do some running, and it’s pretty bad. It’s not so much a matter of getting tired; it’s a matter of pain shooting through my lungs if I go more than a limited distance. It’s starting to get better, but only a little bit at time. Compounding the problem is that I’m really bad a judging distances, so I don’t really know how far I’m running in comparison to how far I should be running.

The main training program for the marathon starts on March 4th. I now have a little less than a month to get to the point where I can comfortably run three miles. I have no idea how long a mile is.

It’s really going to be interesting to see how this pans out.

Editor’s Note: In retrospect, the Marathon Project is one of my favourite things I ever did; not just for the running itself, but for setting a long-term goal and seeing it through to the end (I’m usually pretty bad with that). It later turned out the reason I was in pain was because I was pacing myself so poorly; once I fixed that training got a lot more fun.

Since running the marathon, I kinda let myself slide again. I’d like to get back into marathon condition, but I haven’t really made the time for it yet.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Wherein I Find Fault in All I Cast my Eyes Upon Look, up in the Sky!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2007
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

